Brooklyn's Snowmine announce new album DIALECTS & tour!

snowmine.jpg

Happy 2014! No idea how we are almost a full month into this year but so it goes. I'm actually writing this blog entry from a plane up in the air, taking me to New York for a whirlwind work trip. How jet-settery of me huh? Anyways, there have somehow already been a ton of great new releases this year and they just keep on coming which is very exciting. While I plan on recapping a lot of them soon, today I want to talk about a band I'm particularly fond of, Brooklyn's Snowmine. I actually can't even remember if I have ever blogged about them before, but I've been a fan for a while and have been trying to book them showcases for what seems like an eternity. While our wires have never been quite able to connect on that end, I'm very excited that they are gearing up to hit the road on a big tour supporting Small Black and will be releasing their new album Dialects through their own imprint Myster Buildings on February 4th. The album was produced by the band and recorded in a church in uptown Manhattan and apparently chronicles a "disoriented period" in singer Grayson Sanders’ life, when after the band’s first record, he spontaneously left his job, and spent the following year wandering with a single bag.

The lyrics are pulled entirely from a journal that Sander's kept during his travels. I sometimes have my own disoriented periods after I drink one too many margaritas, though I never travel anywhere with just one bag so I can only have relate but having given Dialects a few spins it's definitely a solid follow up to their previous release Laminate Pet Animal - albiet a bit more ambient at times.

SNOWMINE 2014 TOUR DATES:
Wed 2/5/2014 Allston, MA @ Great Scott*
Thu 2/6/2014 Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands (Album Release Show)*
Fri 2/7/2014 Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s (Co-headline with Norwegian Arms)*
Sat 2/8/2014 Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery*
Fri 3/21/2014 San Diego CA @ Casbah
Sat 3/22/2014 Los Angeles CA @ Bootleg Bar
Mon 3/24/2014 Santa Cruz CA @ The Crepe Place
Tue 3/25/2014 San Francisco CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Thu 3/27/2014 Portland OR @ Bunk Bar
Fri 3/28/2014 Seattle WA @ Barboza
Sat 3/29/2014 Vancouver BC @ Media Club
Sun 3/30/2014 Spokane WA @ The Bartlett
Tue 4/1/2014 Salt Lake City UT @ Kilby Court
Wed 4/2/2014 Denver CO @ Hi Dive
Fri 4/4/2014 Des Moines IA @ Vaudeville Mews
Sat 4/5/2014 St. Paul MN @ Turf Club
Sun 4/6/2014 Chicago IL @ Schubas
Tue 4/8/2014 Columbus OH @ Double Happiness
Wed 4/9/2014 Detroit MI @ Magic Stick
Thu 4/10/2014 Ithaca NY @ The Haunt
Fri 4/11/2014 Montreal QC @ Club Lambi
Sat 4/12/2014 Burlington VT @ Signal Kitchen
Sat 6/21/2014 Toronto ON @ NXNE